Multiple car accidents happen every minute across the U.S., and no matter where you live, there is always a possibility that you’ll be involved in one. North Carolina, for example, sees thousands of accidents annually, in part due to the number of tourists and exciting things to do.
For this reason, we have examined some of the most important NC car crash laws to know to better prepare you should you ever find yourself involved in a collision on the scenic roads of North Carolina.
Living in a Fault State
There are two different types of states when it comes to car insurance and auto wrecks: fault states and no-fault states. In a no-fault state, drivers are required to carry personal injury protection coverage that allows them to file an insurance claim with their own insurer after being injured in an accident, regardless of who is responsible for causing the collision.
However, North Carolina is a fault state, which means if you’re involved in an accident, your insurance claim needs to be filed with the at-fault party’s insurance provider.
Contributory Negligence and Your Claim
Contributory negligence laws refer to what happens when the injury victim is partially to blame for causing the accident. One Charlotte car accident attorney describes NC shared fault laws, as follows, “Contributory negligence prevents injury victims from seeking compensation in a civil lawsuit from other involved parties.”
This is opposed to other states where if you are partially to blame, you can file a claim, obtain compensation, but have your settlement reduced by your portion of fault; known as comparative negligence.
NC Auto Insurance Requirements
As with most states, North Carolina law requires that drivers carry auto insurance coverage on their vehicles. The minimum amount and types of coverage that must be included on every vehicle include:
- $25,000 in property damage liability coverage
- $30,000 per person/$60,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
- $30,000 per person/$60,000 per accident in uninsured or underinsured motorist bodily injury liability coverage
- $25,000 in uninsured or underinsured property damage liability coverage
It is important to prepare as best you can for the possibility of a collision. These minimum amounts of coverage are unlikely to fully protect you financially if you end up in a car accident.
Adding higher policy limits, rental car coverage, comprehensive, collision, and gap insurance (if you finance your vehicle) can go a long way towards easing the financial burden you’re sure to experience if you are unfortunate enough to be injured in a NC auto wreck.